Just Released – The Spellbook of Marie Laveau: The Petit Albert

This one, I have to admit, I was not expecting.  Hadean Press has just released a translation of the infamous French book of charms, the Petit Albert.  (If you’re curious, you can consult Joe’s French text.)  To my knowledge, only one other English translation was published, circa 1880, and I’m not even sure about that one.

I have to admit some skepticism about the main title.  The Petit Albert was indeed present in the New Orleans occult scene, yet I’m not sure what evidence, if any, connects it to Marie Laveau, on whom information is sketchy to begin with.  The translator, Talia Felix, will make the case in the introduction, so I’ll see how it goes.

I think the title is fortuitous, however.  As it turns out, I’d like to get to New Orleans in early April after the conference in Austin, but I’m not sure of my funding for that leg.  If someone would like to put up a notorious third-rate author and blogger for a day or two, please let me know.

Published in: on February 13, 2013 at 1:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://danharms.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/just-released-the-spellbook-of-marie-laveau-the-petit-albert/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers