Books of Interest

I was going to put together a list of possible books for Christmas, but I never got around to it.  I can’t really write a review of any of them, since I haven’t read them, but perhaps some of you will be interested.

  • Weiser Antiquarian presents Teitan Press’ Inside Solar Lodge – Outside the Law: True Tales of Initiation and High Adventure, an inside look at an organization that we’ve discussed in the past.  I seriously don’t think they can come up with a good explanation for stealing the Crowley collection, so I think I’ll pass.
  • Brill’s got a couple of new and highly expensive works on various esoteric topics.  Of especial interest are Paracelsus:  Essential Theoretical Writings and Religion und arkane Hierarchie, a work on the eighteenth-century Masonic order  of the Gold and Rosy-Cross.
  • For the gamers, the new game Cthulhutech – mecha meets the Mythos – has been released.  It seems to be suffering from two problems.  First is low exposure – out of three good gaming stores I’ve visited over vacation, I only saw it at one.  Second is the binding – the only copy I paged through already had pages falling out, and it sounds as if this is a common problem.  On the upside, this has brought one of the best “the bug’s a feature” statements I’ve ever read, courtesy of an RPG.net review:

If you are contemplating whether Cthulhutech is worth £30.00 plus postage, I believe that it is, particularly when the worst case scenario is getting two copies of the book at £15 each.

I suppose those who are really lucky will find that their replacement copy is also flawed, and will then get three books (two with pages missing) for the price of one.  The publisher is doing what it can to address this, of course, but I think I’ll wait until I can view a good copy before buying.

Published in: on December 29, 2007 at 12:33 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2007/12/29/books-of-interest/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

