The Long-Lost Friend – Not So Friendly

Yesterday I was in the shower thinking over potential projects, when it occurred to me that no one had re-issued The Long Lost Friend in a while.  Oh sure, you can find a copy of it online, but there are some incantations left out of the main edition that serves as the basis for most of these.  Plus, it’d be nice to include a historic introduction, and maybe even some translations of formulae from other books that Johann Georg Hohman also was involved in publishing, like Die Land- und Haus-Apotheke.  Such a work could attract much attention.

Spending some time plotting out how to make it happen, I finally broke down and looked at Amazon.  I was surprised to find two different copies published in the last few months.  Both of those are print on demand, however, so that’s not such a big deal.  I was even more shocked, however, to find that The Pennsylvania State University Press were issuing their own reprint on the first of next month.

Hey, The Pennsylvania State University Press!  That’s my gangster money you’re taking!  I wasted a whole eight hours thinking about my plan!  I was so angry, I pre-ordered it, just to show them!

In retrospect, it seems that plan was flawed.  At any rate, it’ll be interesting to see if it’s just a reprint or if there’s more scholarly material added.  I think Adolf Spamer was correct when he pointed out the need for a series of grimoires in scholarly editions, and that would be a nice step in this direction.  No doubt Hohman would be surprised to see his book coming out from a university publisher less than two centuries after he first published it.  And we’ll see if the market needs another version.

Published in: on February 4, 2008 at 3:02 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2008/02/04/the-long-lost-friend-not-so-friendly/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A new translation from the German… Please… Odhinn… let it be a new translation from the German.

    Hey Dan. On a related note. I’ve been making notes from “Scandinavian Folk Belief and Legend” edited by Reimund Kvideland and Henning Sehmsdorf (University of Minnesota Press) and I noticed a lot of similarities between the structure of a couple of spells from Swedish trial transcripts circa 1722 from the Ale township in Vastergotland (in the section “Healers and Wise Folk”) and the spells in Hohman’s text.

    Most of the examples they give in that section are closer to the variety in the Icelandic Galdrabok and the Books of Elverum, those two stand out.

    The whole book is really cool. If you haven’t checked it out before, it’s a fun read with quite a bit of magical practice from the folk record.

  2. Send them my way. Maybe there are notes in the Spamer Romanusbuchlein on them.

  3. […] The Pennsylvania State University Press isn’t crushing my dreams, it puts out an excellent Magic in History series.  One of their latest offerings is Binding Words […]

  4. My great Grandfather did some pow wow workings in his area in PA. My sister and I are trying to find as much information on it as possible. I have a copy coming to me as well of The Long Hidden Friend but would love to be able to see translations of all of his work. I also have Albertus Magnus’ book on the issues and do recognize some of the things he used to do. I still remember the root binding ceremony he taught me and have the blood stop verse he passed to my mother. She was too scared and refused it so he passed it to me. I was 8 at the time but still have it. I was young when he died but he told me it was our heritage and that in time I would understand. We would love to know what to look for if any of you know of more books on druidic or dutch pow wows other than that of Albertus and Hohman. Thanks

  5. […] Friend Comments In response to one of my Long-Lost Friend posts, Dawn […]

  6. Thanks, redirected and now reading through all the info. Thank you. Great site.

  7. […] months, I also acquired a copy of Penn State’s edition of The Long-Lost Friend, about which I ranted back in February.  Instead of being a scholarly edition, however, it turned out to be a straight reprint of a copy […]


Leave a Reply

