Paper Update

I’ve been spending some time working on the Necronomicon paper for the conference in June.  It’s about at the stage where the paper starts to open up like a flower, revealing all sorts of realms of wonder and possibilities, to which the author says, “Hey, I’m trying to write here, dammit!”

Right now, I’m examining the strategies that Simon uses to legitimate and market his book, mainly as given in the introduction.  If you’ve read it, you know that there’s quite a mix – Lovecraft, Crowley, Sumer, grimoires, Paganism, Satanism, movies, and any other number of others tossed into the mix and chopped up in an author’s blender.  It’s quite the challenge to disentangle sometimes, even after all the preparation I’ve done.  I think it’s going to be an impressive piece, if possibly too long for publication.

I was going to conduct some interviews, but now that I’m done with the incredibly long process of IRB approval (which you need if you even talk to people based on medical guidelines – this is a rant), my chief contact isn’t answering his email.  Sigh.  I’ve got plenty of material now anyway.

I’m also hoping to dig out some of the old material Simon worked on in Earth Religion News.  I’ve got quite a bit of it, but not all of it, and what I have is governed by a special collections agreement that means I can’t talk about it here.  I’ll see what I can dig up that’ll be of interest to readers.  One conclusion that arises from looking at his corpus as a whole is that Simon sees a pseudonym mainly as a way to make rude and snarky comments about people without repercussions.  Hey, I live with my rude and snarky comments, so there’s no reason why others shouldn’t either.

If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to ask them.

Published in: on April 22, 2008 at 3:23 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2008/04/22/paper-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

