Call of Cthulhu Galore

Three new licensees of the Call of Cthulhu game system have appeared in scarce two weeks.  First, there’s Super Genius Games, whose marketing strategy I discussed here.  Super Genius is doing a great job on answering questions, working up advertising, and doing what a gaming company needs to do.  In short, they’re ahead of the game in all aspects save for one – defining their niche, other than really cheap adventures – which the other two newbies have just done.  If they can do that, I have high hopes.

The next is Reality Deviant Publications, a company making games under the True20 System.  They’re seeking to adapt Cthulhu to that rules set, following it up with a line of sourcebooks set in Elizabethan England, Sumeria (Necronomicon, anyone?), and the distant future.  It’s a great vision, but they might want to put up their press release on their webpage for starters…

Finally, we have Miskatonic River Press (that’s the submission guidelines), run by Keith “Doc” Herber, the creative genius behind the Lovecraft Country series.  Though globe-trotting Indiana Jonesian campaigns like Shadows of Yog-Sothoth and Masks of Nyarlathotep get all the hype, the Lovecraft Country books detailing HPL’s New England countryside have quietly done their duty of providing a different style of play closer to the original stories.  (I had a fun Lovecraft Country game, until the characters said, “Screw this weirdness!” and moved to Detroit.  I never forgave them.)  Doc is seeking submissions for another book of adventures set in the Miskatonic Valley, and I wish I had the time to write something for him.

Best of luck to all of them!

Published in: on May 1, 2008 at 9:44 pm  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2008/05/01/call-of-cthulhu-galore/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Detroit???

    *shudders*

    Seriously, Lovecraft Country sounds bien interessant. Merci beaucoup.

  2. Hey, I grew up in Detroit!

    Doc (Keith Herber)

  3. The player who suggested it lived in Detroit. Of course, even she didn’t want to live in Detroit, so the group set up house in Windsor.

  4. The player who suggested it lived in Detroit. Of course, even she didn’t want to live in Detroit, so the group set up house in Windsor.

  5. Indeed, I remember one of the CoC supplements (Arkham Unveiled?) had a dedication to the Dawn Treader bookstore in Ann Arbor.

    As a former U-M student, I’m amused by the notion of people preferring Windsor over Detroit.

  6. […] Previously I mentioned that, in the midst of Doc Herber’s great Lovecraft Country campaigns, the entire group moved […]

  7. How do i make money from the seven book of moses?

  8. Pls how can i get it,i mean d book,email me or text me a message on diz

  9. I believe it

  10. Hi… I’m not sure if you can or will help but I came across your site. I am trying to find a mentor to teach me about the rituals and practices of Moses and King Solomon. All my life I have felt like I was here to do something good but could never figure out what it was until I came across certain books. I want to help to help people like the prophets in the bible.
    Thank you
    Please contact me if you can’t help can you send me in the right direction.

  11. is ok


Leave a Reply

