Necronomicon Research Ongoing

I’m still working on researching the Necronomicon for my upcoming paper.  As a result, I keep coming across weird factoids that don’t really belong in the paper but that I find interesting nonetheless.  I’ll try to share them with you.

For example, Robert Carey published a frankly uninformative piece on the Simon book in the St. John’s Eve 1984 issue of Crypt of Cthulhu, with this rather surprising revelation regarding the book’s popularity:

Analyzing his order list for the first few years, Simon estimates that slightly over half of the buyers are male, and that some 20-30% of the mail-orders come from various branches of the military…  He says he does not get an incredible amount of crank mail under the circumstances.

I’m actually surprised that there was an even gender split on the book – I’ve met very few practitioners of the Necronomicon who are female.  I’m not sure whether that has to do with trends in ceremonial magick in general, or something specific to the book.

From the Autumn 2001 issue of Behutet, in an article on Herman Slater:

Simon, a Nazi hunter and “editor” of the Necronomicon, was supposed to buy the Warlock Shoppe at one time as well.

In addition, I’m finding one question is giving me fits – when did Slater move the Warlock Shoppe in Brooklyn to Manhattan and rename it the Magickal Childe?  All the accounts I have get vague at that point.  I’m fairly certain it was some time between 1975 and 1976, but when?

More as I find it.

Published in: on May 2, 2008 at 12:30 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2008/05/02/necronomicon-research-ongoing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thats some really good info. Thanks for posting it. I was under the same assumption that the were more male practitioners than female at one time. However, I must say that after I started working with the system and now teaching it, all my students have been female. I must also add that the steps for the female GateWalker are slightly different. I can send u some info on that if you like..Best of luck to you on your project* Warlock Asylum

  2. Dear Mr. Harms…
    Why don’t you ask Mr. Alan Cabal, the journalist? He was around in that time and knows probably a lot of interesting and exciting things…

  3. Warlock,

    That would be great. Please send it to my address at hotmail, which is under the name vonjunzt.

    Axel,

    I did speak with him briefly:

    https://danharms.wordpress.com/2006/06/20/dead-names-dead-dog-a-curious-omission/

    I didn’t get a response to my second round of questions. I generally assume that if people don’t write me back, they don’t want to be bothered, so I haven’t pressed the issue.

  4. […] can also answer my own question:  the grand opening of Magickal Childe was announced for Friday, February 13, […]

  5. Hey Dan.., I just checked your comment! I will be sending that this week sometime. My apologies for the delay.

  6. […] Papers Falling from an Attic Window […]

  7. I stumbled upon your blog during a search for the words “Warlock Shoppe.”

    My sister can help you with the date you are seeking. She was Herman Slater’s first High Priestess following his relocation from Henry Street in Brooklyn (The Warlock Shoppe) to Manhattan (The Magickal Childe). Her Craft name then was Rhia (with the letter “i” not “e” – she is not the Rhea who is now in the Bronx). Their first meeting took place shortly after he opened the new location, and had tables upon tables of books laid-out for sale. She bought her first real book about Craft there, and the rest is history… or “her”story (LOL). Please contact me through my blog if you’d like to be put in touch with her, as we live together now. Blessings to you.

    http://wiccanwoman.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

