On the Shelf – The Sixth and Seventh Books of Moses, Initial Thoughts

Awaiting me upon my return to the Undisclosed Workplace was a long-awaited book – Peterson’s Sixth and Seventh Books of Moses. So far, it looks like a great read, and one of great interest to both scholars and practitioners.

Wait. I’d best check on the curse first, before going any further.

HE WHO REFUSES A COPY OF THIS BOOK, OR WHO SUPPRESSES IT OR STEALS IT, WILL BE SEIZED WITH ETERNAL TREMBLING, LIKE CAIN, AND THE ANGELS OF GOD WILL DEPART FROM HIM.

Let’s see… no refusal, no suppression, no stealing… Hey, finally a book curse that doesn’t come down on me!

It is customary to afford special care to books such as this, which contain sacred names. This typically includes washing your hands before handling.

All right, so I screwed up that part, but he didn’t warn me about that in advance. Now you know.

I’ll dip into this some more in the days to come. I should add, for the benefit of any Necronomicon fans, that they should really look in the back of this book for an announcement of interest to them.

(And I’m catching up on life here after my trip, so please pardon any delays.)

Published in: on May 12, 2008 at 10:00 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2008/05/12/on-the-shelf-the-sixth-and-seventh-books-of-moses-initial-thoughts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “Watching your hands” eh? Until that point I just thought you had to take the standard book store bathroom precautions….

  2. Oh, sure. You didn’t give me any warning either before you handed the book to me.

    I’ll remember that the next time you leave your office door unlocked. mwahahahaha

  3. I finally received my copy of the “6th and 7th” the other day and was a little suprised by the advert in the back, or maybe just suprised by the price tag 😉 I typed it into amazon and it’s got a Dec. ’08 release date, so considering the latest Ibis related delays I guess we can expect it sometime in summer of ’09 🙂

  4. EH,

    I also forgot about the traditional curse that comes from reading it, too. Sorry about that.

    Dave,

    I’d agree – given the market rates I’ve just searched, it’s fairly pricey, especially for no real new comment save for the preface. Nonetheless, the Amazon discount drops it to a level where I can buy one without guilt, even if it’s not the super-limited edition.

  5. hi,nice to mail u.i am seriously in need of this book 6th and 7th books of moses.can u please offer me a copy?


Leave a Reply

