The Veritable Key of Solomon

In another of those “possibly the last guy to know” situations, I’ve discovered that Llewellyn will be publishing a new edition of the Key of Solomon put together by Stephen Skinner and David Rankine, the team responsible for the Goetia of Doctor Rudd.

I think this a great thing overall, though it occurs to me that, in all the discussion of Doctor Rudd, I forgot to mention some of my qualms about the coverage of Solomon in that book.  Still, I’m willing to wait and see how this one turns out.

Published in: on June 4, 2008 at 5:42 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2008/06/04/the-veritable-key-of-solomon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Interesting. I had heard this was going to be Rankine & Skinners next book a little while back, but I’m a little bummed to learn that it is going to be a crappy paperback from Llewellyn. I’m not so bummed about the idea of it being paperback as I am of it being a Llewellyn paperback as I’ve had a long history of Llewellyn paperbacks falling apart on me from just moderate use. Anyhow, it’s interesting how on other editions there’s a hardcover link that claimes a Golden Hoard hardcover printing for Dec. 2008. I’m guessing it’s just going to be the high priced leather bound edition, which sucks as I would have liked to have a copy that matches the rest of the hermetic source works series (kind of like the magician’s tables book which was bound as hardcover by Llewellyn!).

    On a side note, I was lamenting about a year ago on a forum somewhere or another that I would like to see a full and better done version of the Key. I alwas found it odd that something so influental on the grimoire tradition as the Key of Solomon had been left at Mathers’ edition for so long. At the time I said it’d be nice if Peterson did it has he’s made available so much already and his scholarship is, well, scholarly. Well I guess we’ll just have to wait and see how well Rankine and Skinner deliver, though I confess that I enjoy their works more the less intensly I read their introduction 😉 I guess the positive here is that at least Lllewellyn is a bit more punctual on actually delivering their books when they say they will….well, Usually…

  2. I’m just curious as to what they’ll take as the baseline for the manuscript. I’d also like to really see a translation of the Greek version that predates the others – the Magical Treatise of Solomon – but I’m not holding my breath.

  3. The Llewellyn edition will be a black and white 432 page Hardback edition. The actual production (as with the Complete Magician’s Tables) will be done by the Golden Hoard team, so I can assure you it will not fall apart. The separate limited quarter leather edition being produced by Golden Hoard (www.GoldenHoard.com) will have the same 432 pages, but it will be produced in full colour so all the original colour pentacles will be reproduced. The baseline is a French manuscript scribed for a French aristocrat in 1796. It is not the earliest, but it is the most detailed. The book contains two separate Keys, one from the ‘King Solomon’ tradition, and one from the ‘Rabbi Solomon’ tradition in order to cover as much of the material as possible. Commentary on all the manuscripts including the earlier Greek manuscripts will be part of the introduction.

  4. Stephen,

    Many thanks! Let me move this up to a post.

    Dan

  5. […] Key of Solomon: Update Stephen Skinner, editor of The Veritable Key of Solomon mentioned in a previous post, dropped by with the following […]

  6. […] As I’ve received some queries, I asked Llewellyn Customer Service about the edition of the Veritable Key of Solomon scheduled for September 2 of this year.  Their response was that the manuscript isn’t even […]

  7. Let me add my late response to this. The Veritable Key of Solomon is probably the best book I have read in a long time, not only for the mss but also the introduction. I was introduced to the work of David Rankine through Practical Planetary Magick and am great fan not only of his work with Skinner, but also with Sorita d’Eate.


Leave a Reply

