Magic: Frontiers and Boundaries Conference and Animals

The Magic: Frontiers and Boundaries conference in Waterloo, Ontario, was one of the most amazing experiences of my life.  People coming together from all eras and specialties to talk about a single topic, the camaraderie, the talks both on and off topic… all of it was wonderful.

Which is why I regret to inform you about the HIGHLY DANGEROUS ANIMALS which I encountered while I was there.

Note that I didn’t do much walking while at Waterloo – maybe about a quarter mile from the conference center to the student union and back.  Yet three times I was confronted by some dangerous creature.

No sooner had I arrived in Waterloo and eaten lunch, then I (and many conference participants) were confronted by a skunk.  Lest this seem typical, this nocturnal animal was roaming about in full sight around 3:00 in the afternoon.  This vicious beast menaced the assembled scholars by walking under a picnic table, rolling over on its back, and waving its little paws in the air.  How terrible!

Later, when I was walking to the union along the banks of a stream, I met this fellow:

For those not from North America, or who haven’t read many novels set in the South, that’s a snapping turtle.  Plus, it’s a big one – not quite alligator snapper big, but that shell is as big around as a serving platter.

At the end of the conference, I went over to the cafeteria with a colleague.  And who was there to greet us?

That’s a hawk, sitting complacently on the railing next to the cafeteria.  He was even there when we left.

So, I hope there will be another such conference coming up, though I will circulate pictures of this man to make sure he does not interfere with this wonderful event.

Published in: on June 28, 2008 at 11:08 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2008/06/28/magic-frontiers-and-boundaries-conference-and-animals/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. That sounds like a neat conference – not too far from Toronto, too. Darn.


Leave a Reply

