Plans for England

I’ve put off traveling to the UK for far too long, and next June and July look like good dates.  A great deal remains up in the air with regard to accommodations and other considerations – the cheaper the better, and given the weak dollar and the high cost of living in the area, even that likely won’t be cheap.

So, I’m looking for places to stay, people to see, and things to do.  Maybe I can get in a book signing or lecture – who knows?

Feel free to leave your thoughts in the comments.

Published in: on August 30, 2008 at 3:28 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2008/08/30/plans-for-england/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You might want to check out Watkins Books in Cecil Court, near Charing Cross.

  2. Treadwell’s of Tavistock Rd too. Keep meaning to go there myself one day….

    For legendary and myth-haunted, you ideally want Wales or Cornwall, though lots of places have interest. If you’ve not been to Edinburgh, I would put that high on any list.

    If you’re going to be coming anywhere near Oxford, do let me know – I’d be very pleased to meet up with you. Lectures and book signings are both quite common here, and we have the Pitt Rivers museum (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pitt_Rivers_Museum) which is closed right now, but is supposed to be open again Spring 2009. Shrunken heads, ceremonial costumes from the South Seas, witchcraft charms, opium pipes, endless cases of things bought, bartered or stolen from faraway places by Victorian explorers, each with its own handwritten label, all preserved in an atmosphere of Victorian gloom. They don’t make museums like that any more…

  3. I’m sure that Treadwell’s in Covent Garden would happily accomodate a talk and signing. They also have talks on virtutally every night of the week and there are a number of weekly pagan moots in various of London’s pubs that might also interest you on the esoteric side of things.
    Bloomsbury and environs are also worth a visit to view some of Machen’s old stomping grounds.

    You might also want to visit Dunwich, just for the sake of the place name, though it is not readily accessible if you don’t have a car. I’ll be posting some stuff on my blog about a recent trip to Dunwich and the South-East coast of England (M.R. James country and also the location of the ‘British Roswell’ at Woodbridge) in the near future. I would also agree with the previous commentor – Oxford and the Pitt-Rivers are definitely worth a visit.

  4. Is there a bus that goes by Dunwich? You often see coachloads of old dears getting dropped off for fish and chips there. If not, a very pleasant coastal walk can be had from Southwold, which has a decent bus connection and a good local brewery – a fine place to spend a week. I love Dunwich – one of my formative childhood memories is of a holiday to Suffolk in the early 80s when my father and brothers gathered plastic-bagfuls of bones that had fallen from the cliffs and decided to take them home. Being about five I was convinced they were cursed and threw such a strop that my mother insisted the bones were buried on the beach before we left. Happy days.

  5. Justin – regarding the ‘British Roswell’ – are you aware of the writings of Kenneth Grant regarding this area? The Ninth Arch mentions the ‘lights of Rendlesham’, and Satanic goings-on there are alluded to in ‘Against The Light’, which also mentions another Suffolk locale: Brundish. The intriguing thing is that the core text of the Ninth Arch was (allegedly) written before the (alleged) alien contact at Rendlesham!

    In collaboration with English Heretic I’ve been part of musical recordings in both Rendlesham Forest and Brundish churchyard, the latter of which I found a tremendously evocative place, especially when amongst the forgotten tombs in the overgrown and adder-infested long-grasses!

  6. Phil – I’m not sure if there is a bus to Dunwich, though I think there is a bus to Dunwich Heath (if I remember aright from the National Trust site). I’ve also heard that John Dee has had some association with Dunwich, though whether this is true or not I can’t say (though I think there is some circumstantial evidence that Dee may have engaged in treasure hunting in or around Sutton Hoo)

    The Ninth Arch is standing unread on my bookshelf (I ran out of steam around Beyond the Mauve Zone) but I’ll be sure to check the Rendlesham reference out. According to Nick Redfern’s book ‘Three Men Seeking Monsters’ there have been reports of both a black dog apparition and a wild man/sasquatch-type of crytid known as the Shug Monkey (though I haven’t encountered mention of this outside of Redfern’s book) in Rendlesham Forest. I think Redfern claims reports of both these entities date back to around the 18th Century. Supposedly some kind of Deep One-like humanoid cryptid was discovered swimming in the sea by the locals at nearby Orford Ness and imprisoned in Orford Castle back in the 16th Century, which adds to the Lovecraftian flavour of the area. I plan to post a somewhat psychogeographical travologue of a recent trip to Suffolk on my blog soon (ish).

    I only discovered the English Heretic online presence recently (via Mark Fisher’s blog) – some of the journals/CD they produce do sound intriguing and are on my list of stuff to check out. Is there anything you’d particularly recommend?

  7. Does “Plans for England” mean that you will not be visiting any of the other countries in the British Isles?

  8. I’m trying to keep the plans modest in geography, for the time being.


Leave a Reply

