On the Shelf Review – Necronomicon 31st Anniversary Edition

I’ve received my new edition of Simon’s infamous Necronomicon that was announced previously.  Is it worth your hard-earned (or not) money?

It depends, really.  If you’re a die-hard Necronomicon fan who must have the book in hardcover, complete with cloth bookmark, then you’ll definitely buying this book.  Then again, you probably wouldn’t be reading Papers to begin with.

Most other readers will find this book disappointing.  For those familiar with the paperback, the only added texts are the prefaces to the third printing and the fourth (this one), both of which strive for two pages each.  The latest consists merely of a tribute to Simon’s Magickal Childe colleagues who have passed beyond the mortal coil (a nice touch) and an uninspired examination of gematria, or Jewish numerology, of the Necronomicon and its 31st year.  A passage:

In Greek, the number 31 has only one reference in Barry’s work, and that is the word for “and”: kaiKai is also the word for “especially.”  Thus, this anniversary edition of the Necronomicon is not the end of a sentence, but the connection between two separate clauses, between a fascinating past and a darkly-mysterious future.

I think this is what Simon var Yohai and his colleagues would have referred to as “stretching it.”

So, there you have it.  Purchase, or not, as you see fit.

Published in: on November 21, 2008 at 12:36 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2008/11/21/on-the-shelf-review-necronomicon-31st-anniversary-edition/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOL. Is this Hardcover edition being passed off as REAL too?…A real waste of time IMO.

  2. I don’t know, I’d love to get the hardcover myself, and I’m a very orthodox Christian. I know that sounds contradictory, but I collect weird books (I have about 5,000 on everything from Biology to tax law to the Peterson works) and a hardcover hoax grimoire would be a nice addition, just for the laugh. On the other hand, I can’t justify the costs of it…if I could find it used in the twenty buck range, maybe, but the lowest I’ve seen is about $80. That’s too much for the same book I can (and have gotten) at the used book store for 85 cents in paperback.


Leave a Reply

