Long-Lost Friend Comments

In response to one of my Long-Lost Friend posts, Dawn writes:

My great Grandfather did some pow wow workings in his area in PA. My sister and I are trying to find as much information on it as possible. I have a copy coming to me as well of The Long Hidden Friend but would love to be able to see translations of all of his work. I also have Albertus Magnus’ book on the issues and do recognize some of the things he used to do. I still remember the root binding ceremony he taught me and have the blood stop verse he passed to my mother. She was too scared and refused it so he passed it to me. I was 8 at the time but still have it. I was young when he died but he told me it was our heritage and that in time I would understand. We would love to know what to look for if any of you know of more books on druidic or dutch pow wows other than that of Albertus and Hohman. Thanks

We’ll see what we can do, Dawn.

First, it’s important not to consider powwowing “druidic” or even pagan of any variety.  Though some of the charms therein might date back to pre-Christian times in Europe, most of them were used by centuries by people who would call themselves Christian, and who considered being “ecumenical” as tolerance of both Catholics and Lutherans.  There has been a recent movement to redefine powwowing in terms of modern pagan spiritualities, but that’s more wishful thinking than anything else.  Of course, your beliefs are your own.

The most obvious addition to your list is The Sixth and Seventh Books of Moses.  There are numerous editions kicking around.  Joe Peterson’s edition, my thoughts on which start here (see part 1, part 2, part 3, part 4, and part 5), is a modern translation of the German edition that many braucherei, or powwowers, were using at the time.  If your ancestors were using an English edition, you might seek out one of the more flawed translations of the time.

Also of note is the German charm-book Romanusbuchlein, available in translation for free at Joseph Peterson’s site.  This wasn’t an American charm book, exactly, but it served as a source for the works by pseudo-Albertus and Hohman.  If you get even more ambitious, you can check out the original German with annotations by Adolf Spamer.

I’d say that these are the most influential works in the tradition.  There’s much more, both printed and in manuscript, but that requires some knowledge of German.  In the meantime, you might look into such works as Kriebel’s article on texts in modern powwowing and Ned Heindel’s Hexenkopf.

Good luck!

Published in: on December 21, 2008 at 3:14 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2008/12/21/long-lost-friend-comments/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I highly recommend Spamer for his detailed analysis of each of the charms in Romanusbuechlein. He has assembled a veritable treasure-trove of material from a lifetime of scholarly work.

    I actually have Albertus Magnus’ Egyptian Secrets on my web site too: http://www.esotericarchives.com/moses/egyptian.htm
    Note however, that the widely-printed English edition only contains 3 of the 4 volumes found in the German editions. (It was printed as 4 separate books, and as one with all 4 volumes.)

    Also, many of the charms are repeated throughout with slight variations. When I find some spare time I will try to give some account of the contents of the missing texts.

  2. Thank you. This helps a lot. I used the term druidic due to hearing it all my life. It was used as a negative term to down play what he did. It’s sad really. My mom said that the whole family looked up to him until a new preacher had come through the town. He claimed he was a witch and then the family begged him to stop. Everyone stopped talking about it and it was hushed. I think it is ridiculous what was done to him and this list gives me a start to try to get closer to what he did. I remember seeing the 6th and 7th book of moses. I had asked my mom about it 5 years ago and was told it was demonic. Again, ridiculous. Anyway, I am tired of taking someone elses point of view through tainted glass as fact. Thank you for the starting point.


Leave a Reply

