Keith “Doc” Herber, Farewell

It’s been an odd couple days.  Yesterday I was invited to a convention near here where I was going to meet a couple people.  One of them was going to be Keith “Doc” Herber, author of all manner of wonderful supplements for Call of Cthulhu.

One of the earliest Call of Cthulhu products I ever owned was Doc’s Fungi from Yuggoth, which came to me as a Christmas gift.  As time went on, I read more and more of his material.  I absolutely loved his Lovecraft Country books, which provided a vibrant background to Arkham and Dunwich.  I didn’t quite grasp the genius behind his scenario “The Haunted House” until I read his explanation here.  I read some of his books for other systems, but it was clear what he was truly passionate about.

Doc and I first met online regarding his never-realized Sawtooth project.  We talked on the forums, and we exchanged emails about Worlds of Cthulhu.  I was really looking forward to meeting him, and maybe getting some advice from an old master on Fury.

Today, one of the Stevens wrote me to tell me that Keith “Doc” Herber passed away this morning.  I never met him, but I’ll miss him.

Published in: on March 13, 2009 at 11:20 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2009/03/13/keith-doc-herber-farewell/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. R.I.P. Mr. Herber. While your friends and family will remember you best of all, there will be those of us whose lives you touched with your stories and the dreams you have woven – and helped us weave.

    And we will remember you too.

    Hail the Storyteller!

  2. There’s a Fundable to raise money for his widow, at http://www.fundable.com/groupactions/groupaction.2009-03-14.8857145180. Funerals are not cheap, please give what you can.


Leave a Reply

