Happy Thanksgiving, and Shellfish on the Menu

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving for US readers, which brings me to the topic of food.

Throughout my childhood, I was allergic to shellfish – that is, clams, oysters, lobster, shrimp, crab, squid, and octopus.  A recent allergy test confirmed that these are now safe for me to eat.  Apparently I’ve got a lot of catching up to do.  I had some crab cakes a little while ago that didn’t blow me away, and some shrimp and crab alfredo that my fellow diners assured me could have been much better.

Thus, please use the comments to share your favorite dish along these lines with me, or any guidelines you use for picking quality seafood off the menu.  And have a happy Thanksgiving!

Published in: on November 26, 2009 at 12:58 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2009/11/26/happy-thanksgiving-and-shellfish-on-the-menu/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. the best shellfish-type dish i’ve ever had was at a restaurant in Seattle called Hidden Harbor. i accidentally stumbled across it while wandering around Lake Union, and decided to stop in for dinner. the stuffed prawns (stuffed with crab, actually, plus some other things i don’t recall) were one of the most delicious dishes i’ve ever eaten.

  2. Some of my favorite shellfish dishes are shrimp etoufee, mariscos, paella, and seafood scialatielli. Many of those may be hard to find, depending on your proximity to the appropriate type of restaurant. Calamari or shrimp with marinara always hits the spot for an appetizer. My view on shellfish is that in most cases they work best in concert with other flavors, rather than as the primary taste of the dish.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. In my opinion, the best way to eat crab (and Lobster for that matter) is just cooked in the shell, crack it open and eat it. If it’s a good, fresh crab it’s tasty as can be by itself. Sometimes a little melted butter is ok too. I prefer west coast crab and east coast lobster (Newfoundland is where I’ve had the abolute best lobster – large and tender).

    As for squid, fried calamari can either be divine, or just another fill-in-the-blank fried food. Some restaurants have amazing calamari with various types of seasoning. I recently had a basil pesto based calamari that was incredible.

    Etoufee (as Paul said) can be great. My favorite is crawfish etoufee – if done by someone who really understands cajun cooking.

    Now I’m officially hungry😉 Where’s that damn turkey?

  4. Personally, I am fond of sea urchin, though I am not sure whether it belongs to what is called shellfish. As for American seafood, I was very much impressed with the deliciousness of gumbo when I visited New Orleans last year.

  5. See! The miso soup wouldn’t have killed you after all.

  6. Happy Holidays Dan! I wish you all the best in the upcoming New Year

    http://warlockasylum.wordpress.com/2009/12/09/how-parker-ryan-proved-that-the-necronomicon-tradition-really-exists/
    🙂


Leave a Reply

