The Long-Lost Friend: More Thoughts

Now that I’ve given the announcement, I wanted to expand upon this more.

During my trip to London, I attended Owen Davies’ lecture on his book Grimoires.  At the time, he noted that one of the main areas in which research on grimoires remained to be done was in the United States.  I’ve been mulling that over for a while.

One of the crucial matters that needs to be done, if the study of grimoires is to take off, is the creation of critical editions of key texts in the area.  Recent publications, most notably those by Joe Peterson, have done much in that area. The question, then, is where I can contribute, and given the research I’ve done in the past, The Long-Lost Friend seemed to be a good place to start.

During the past few months, I also acquired a copy of Penn State’s edition of The Long-Lost Friend, about which I ranted back in February.  Instead of being a scholarly edition, however, it turned out to be a straight reprint of a copy in their archives.  This leaves a gap in the publication that should be addressed, and I might as well be the one to do it.

A few weeks ago I picked up a copy of Jonathan Roper’s English Verbal Charms, which I’ve been reading carefully.  Frankly, I’d often ignored the shorter spells in favor of the more elaborate ceremonial magic ceremonies in my research, but I’ve become more intrigued by them lately.

Plus, I’m running short on projects.  My Fury of Yig playtest concludes on Monday, and most of the Hockley research Phil and I have done simply needs to be written up.  The conference I had planned on attending in June has been cancelled, so one other item on the to-do list had vanished.  So this is a good time to start a new project with a new year.

Feel free to ask questions, and I’ll let you know when I figure out the answers.

Published in: on December 19, 2009 at 2:37 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2009/12/19/the-long-lost-friend-more-thoughts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Grisly curiosity, but are you going to mention the Rehmeyer’s Hollow murder? I know it wouldn’t be dealing with the contents of the book per se, but the beliefs and superstitions surrounding grimoires is a part of the magical tradition.

  2. Hi Dan.

    Do you plan to address the variations between ‘Long-Lost Friend’ and the similar ‘Long-Hidden Friend’?

    I really enjoyed your essay on this subject in the newest issue of JSM, by the way.

  3. […] winter break, I’ve been putting together my game plan for The Long-Lost Friend, as discussed here and here.  Where to […]


Leave a Reply

