Long-Lost Friend Update

Thanks to my recent publication post, I’ve been giving some serious consideration as to where I might submit the book.  I do have one publisher that is either perfect or completely wrong for a new Hohman, so I’ll try them first.  Their submission guidelines request an introduction, so I’ve been turning my attention to this.  The most recent effort along these lines was a re-examination of J. Ross McGinnis’ Trials of Hex to refresh myself on the details of the infamous Rehmeyer hex murder.  Ironically, I’ve yet to find any evidence, save for a second-hand statement from one of the killers, that Rehmeyer actually owned a copy of The Long-Lost Friend, the book for which he was killed.

I’m still working on the text, as the translation of German sources can be broken up into bite-sized pieces on which I can work a little at a time.  The most recent discovery was that a plant rendered in the English translation as “gith” is actually “black cumin” in the original German…

Published in: on April 13, 2010 at 12:02 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2010/04/13/long-lost-friend-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Cool beans, g’luck on getting it published.

    Tangent: I’m curious if there’s a direct precedent for Hohman’s diving rod. I’m passing familiar with the forked twig for divining the location of ores from De Re Metallica and Lazarus Ercker’s Treatise on Ores and Assaying, but the details of use are different. Specifically, Hohman’s use of ‘any tree’ for the wood and without exact directions on how the fork is to be held (traditionally, palms up) seems a fairly basic error.

  2. Hi Dan.

    I’m wondering if you’ve found in your research how “Long Lost Friend” relates or compares to Dr. G. F. Helfenstein’s “Vielfaltig erprobter Hausschatz der Sympathie; oder, Enthullte Zauberkrafte und Geheimnisse der Natur” (1853). Portions of this work were later translated by William Wilson Beissel in 1938 and titled “Secrets of Sympathy”. Some of the charms are similar to “LLF”. I have a copy of “Powwow Power”(1998), published by Beissel’s great-nephew which reprints “SoS”. I’ve wondered what Beissel might have left out, or if it’s simply more charms that resemble material found in “LLF”.

    This is really a fascinating area of study.

    Cheers


Leave a Reply

