Seeking NYC History

I’m working on a Call of Cthulhu scenario set in New York City, and it’s been slow going.  If anyone could suggest to me any sources that describe a traveler’s recollections of New York City around 1770 or so, I’d greatly appreciate it.  This is probably a library question, but the local one I normally access is closed for the weekend.

Published in: on May 22, 2010 at 2:28 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2010/05/22/seeking-nyc-history/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Not 1770s, but “American Notes for General Circulation” (Charles Dickens, 1842) is one I highly suggest.

  2. The period is close enough to the Revolution that you probably might start with say a general account of the British occupation’s description of the city and check their references. When I back at my library I’ll check a few things and let you know if anything turns up.

    Otherwise, maybe something from the Haklyut (sp). Society?

  3. Might something here be useful?

    http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/scandocs/colonial.htm

  4. If you don’t get any other leads, check out the mammoth Gotham: A History of New York City to 1898 for pointers.

  5. Thanks for everyone’s suggestions. First prize will have to go to Bret Kramer for sending me a link to a description of the town – and managing to get it within a year of what I wanted:

    http://books.google.com/m?source=mog&gl=us#Read?id=BzkMAAAAIAAJ&page_num=1


Leave a Reply

