Cult of Cthulhu Followup: Curses!

I have a couple reviews and a response to Jake Stratton-Kent to write, but we have some unfinished business to which we must attend.

In response to my last post on the Cult of Cthulhu, Darrick Dishaw excused his comments on Grant by saying that they were simultaneously a joke and a prophecy of Simon’s imminent demise.   I don’t even know how that’s supposed to work, but I’m going to let it slide.

Warlock, however, was good enough to point out this interview with Darrick in which he mentions me.  (You can start it at 1:35.)

I have to admit, my first reaction was, “Wow!  Nobody’s announced they were trying to kill me with magic since 1999!”  That was rapidly followed with, “Sheesh!  Hasn’t everyone moved on to railing against me in mass market paperbacks?”

Nonetheless, I have often been told it is best to handle such matters with good vibrations and positive thoughts.  In recognition of this, and in honor of Darrick’s retro sensibility, I wanted to make him the following peace offering:

(In all fairness, I couldn’t find that Prince song.)

UPDATE:  Darrick says in the comments:  “I put a curse on you way back in 2004… Why don’t you blog about something worthwhile such as man’s ultimate destiny, the terror of our situation, or how Yog-Sothothery relates to the Fourth Way?”

Let’s see.  2004, blogging the terror of our situation…  Ah!  This should do it.

Published in: on February 14, 2011 at 10:00 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2011/02/14/cult-of-cthulhu-followup-curses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Which Prince song? I Hate U? Bit harsh.

    Tricky finding Prince songs anywhere on Youtube. The little purple genius clearly has the time/money to spend on the issue that lesser artists don’t.

    • I was going for 1999, actually. Instead, I had to go for the top song for the year.

  2. I put a curse on you way back in 2004, Dan “plagiarism” Harms. You are well aware of that, but don’t let the facts get in the way of your recollection. No, don’t trouble yourself with how things really are, Dan “plagiarism” Harms.

    Thankfully, in your case, the A:O saw fit to spare your rather insignificant life so you could do their work here on earth. Would you deny that your existence is meaningless, in the grand scheme of things, aside from a few satisfactory contributions to the Mythos? Why don’t you blog about something worthwhile such as man’s ultimate destiny, the terror of our situation, or how Yog-Sothothery relates to the Fourth Way?

    Thanks, Dan “plagiarism” Harms, for continuing to promote the Cult of Cthulhu. The A:O and I appreciate your efforts. 😉

    Awake!

    VS

    • Let’s see… 2004, and blogging about the terror of our situation. I can work with that. See above.

  3. I was cursed several times by Dishaw on yog-sothoth.com when he didn’t like what I said about his ‘Empire of Satanis’ game, and things keep getting better and better for me all the time! Thanks Derrick!

  4. Whoopsie, I guess his first name is spelled with an A, not an E. (Darrick, not Derrick.)

  5. I didn’t know Venger was a big fan of Cher!🙂


Leave a Reply

