Update

This weekend, I pretty much said, “To hell with all of this,” ditched the reading and writing, and took off for various social functions.  First was a stop at Whitney Point for an excellent dinner at Aiello’s, with fellow employees past and present.  I then hopped over to Ithaca for the last show for my friend Loren’s band New Animal.  It was a great show, barring the theft of one of my friend’s purses.  (Hey, wait, doesn’t Hohman have something for that?)

The next day, I drove to Albany for a gaming day with a friend.  No role-playing, but we had three sessions of Mansions of Madness, the new board game from Fantasy Flight.  Overall it’s an interesting game, but not interesting enough to buy it – the puzzles seemed gratuitous (how about an Intellect roll?), and the game seems to default to the Mythos player, giving that person a choice of having a good time or ruthlessly screwing over everyone.  Also played were Shadow Hunters and Battlestar Galactica, both of which were fun.  I also ended up becoming a member of the players’ WoW guild, which they might regret later – I’m less of a raider and more of a miner, fisher, and parachuter.

After that, I came home and crashed.  Last night I watched Wisconsin Death Trip through Netflix – a disappointing piece, as it never arrived at any sort of convergence of the various events.  I’d imagine a movie made out of the Cthulhu Mythos Encyclopedia would look much the same.

Finally, I’ve just seen that my article “The Kun Krak:  A Disgusting Artefact”, is slated to appear in Cthulhu by Arclight, the Vietnam supplement for Call of Cthulhu.  I didn’t choose the subtitle of the piece, but I have no qualms about it.  This gives you a taste.

I should also add, re. Call of Cthulhu, that apparently Chaosium’s site has had serious problems with credit card data being stolen for a few months.  Until they actually resolve the issue, I might recommend using another retailer.  If you don’t mind PDFs, there’s DrivethruRPG – I just bought a copy of the Call of Cthulhu rulebook in PDF to make my freelancing much easier.

Apparently my secret Cthulhu project is awaiting cover art before it is announced.  Once it is, I’ll be quite happy to tell you all about it.

Aside from that, I’m holding up just fine, and I’m ready to dive back into various projects.  The immediate one is a ten-minute presentation on the Folger manuscript and Oberion for our campus’ Scholars’ Day in mid-April…

 

Published in: on March 29, 2011 at 12:08 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2011/03/29/update-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I enjoyed the Death Trip but thought it was more art than documentary. I think I’ve got a book about it somewhere that is equally at a loss to explain. It has a similar tone to Searching for the Wrong Eyed Jesus but this film is probably better, certainly for its anecdotes and surprising analysis of evil.

  2. Consider yourself lucky I was going to say “The Kun Krak: A Disgusting Artefact from the depraved mind of…”🙂

    • Ha! That’s great.

      … though it isn’t really from my mind. Everything in that piece, save for my game mechanics, is based on actual ethnographic sources, some of which have never been published in English.

      • Can you send me a list of some of those? I want to do the/an illo for it, and cursory research has been sparse. I did remember what it was from the name, so I read about it somewhere (FT, probably) but can’t put my finger on it.

  3. I should add its a brilliantly disturbing artefact.

    Giles

  4. Amulets like the Kun Krak are still common in Southeast Asia today. If you’re intereted here‘s a site mostly in (non-standard) English. They’re actually created/blessed by Buddhist monks, which I find rather paradoxical, not to mention, not a little unpleasant in the case of those involving “exotic” ingredients.


Leave a Reply

