Back from New York City

I went to New York City last week on Tuesday and Wednesday.  Tuesday was spent looking over the manuscript collections at the New York Public Library for a potential future project.  I did not accomplish my goal of figuring out how to reproduce the material I wanted, but I did agree to write a new article for an upcoming anthology.  Almost the entire discussion process occurred by Facebook, which was a new one for me.

After finishing my work for the day, I stopped by The Compleat Strategist to round out my Cthulhu RPG collection.  Among my purchases were The Armitage Files, Arkham Detective Tales, The Laundry RPG, Cthulhu 101, Realms of Crawling Chaos, Age of Cthulhu 5, and some others I can’t remember at the moment.  I then stopped at Tsampa Restaurant to meet with – no kidding – Warlock Asylum, with whom I had a great conversation and handed off some Mesopotamian anti-witchcraft literature.  I spent the rest of the evening with Call of Cthulhu author Oscar Rios, watching Sons of Anarchy.

Wednesday was much less exciting for blog readers, save for the discovery that my bank thinks me purchasing $200 worth of roleplaying games is suspicious.  They must not be paying attention.  Other than that, it was mostly librarian association meetings and the like.  Between public transportation and traffic, I managed to make it home after seven hours.  I’ll try not to do that again.

Published in: on November 23, 2011 at 11:22 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2011/11/23/back-from-new-york-city/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So… purchasing RPG material is suspicious, but buying large quantities of occult literature isn’t? The conspiracy clearly goes deeper than I thought.

  2. Graeme: perhaps it is because RPGs require strategies.

    I took two of my spawn to the “Dragon’s Lair” emporium per their whining request in the area of siberia/midwest in which we live. I tried in vain to explain to them the mythos, side-jokes, and history of the marvelous selection of elder god RPG the store had, but they were nonplussed at my enthusiasm and generally disinterested – my heart sank a little – like a beastie into the depths of innsmouth, cape ann being one of my former stomping grounds

  3. Glad you made the trip down!

  4. Tsampa! The Tibetan place near St. Mark’s, right? I’ve been there and still am craving the momos and fresh squeezed apple cider. (I’m catching up on your blog – thanks for crossposting recently on FB to remind me.)

    • That’s right Tsmapa near St. Mark’s. Its a legendary location I see.


Leave a Reply

