My Trip to Dunwich

Last weekend I made a quick trip up to New England to narrow down some possibilities on the authorship and ownership of the Book of Oberon, and to drop off a friend at a retreat.  We kicked around Salem on Thursday for a few hours, visiting  the house that was the basis for Lovecraft’s “The Unnamable” and a few shops before I dropped her off near Worcester.

Friday and Saturday were research days.  Friday was dedicated to the Beinecke Library at Yale, home of the Voynich manuscript, where I checked on a manuscript of the Sepher Raziel and some book sale catalogs.  On Saturday I made a slight detour to Devil’s Hopyard State Park, the basis for the same site from “The Dunwich Horror“.  I spent more time there than I expected wandering through the woods, but I was able to make it to the Widener Library at Harvard (another Dunwich location).  Both Yale and Harvard involved a couple of low-key bookstore excursions, which turned up very little, I’m afraid.

Sunday I met up with Call of Cthulhu authors Bret Kramer and Brian Courtemanche (and, briefly, Matt Sanborn) for a tour, in sub-freezing weather, of yet more sites from “The Dunwich Horror.”  We haunted Wilbraham and Hampden, viewing the mountain there and ravines where whippoorwills are purported to congregate and plot their unhallowed deeds.  Next was a stop at New North Salem to view the Bear’s Den.  We were concerned about the off-road nature of the trek, but a couple locals put us on track to the falls, which turned out to be spectacular when half-frozen.  The evening concluded with a fun evening of Arkham Horror, in which Yig was vanquished.

Monday, I picked up my friend and drove back to New York.

Other than that, the trip consisted mainly of reading Johannes Dillinger’s new book on treasure hunting (review when I finish) and watching lots of NCIS in the hotel.

If you’d like to see some photos from the trip, I’ve posted a good number of them on my Flickr account.

Published in: on January 22, 2012 at 12:51 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/my-trip-to-dunwich/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] more info… This entry was posted in GENERAL POSTS. Bookmark the permalink. ← Funky Wine Glasses Why A Wine Gift Is Extraordinary […]

  2. […] year to embark on our jaunt, so we were on a constant look-out for Ithaqua.  (Links to Brian and Dan‘s versions of […]

  3. […] mention of Cthulhian podcasts comes an interview with Mythos scholar, reptile enthusiast, and Lovecraftian tourist by way of Disinformation.com. In it he talks about his new scholarly edition of The Long Lost […]

  4. I don’t even know how I ended up right here, however I assumed this submit was good. I don’t recognise who you are however definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger in case you are not already. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

