Forthcoming – The Book of Soyga

A quick announcement from Clavis Editions, a joint venture between Three Hands Press and Ouroboros Press:

Dee was particularly interested in a set of 36 tables found in his book that had as yet confounded him and proceeded to ask several more questions of URIEL directly inquiring about the Book of Soyga. Given the importance Dee placed upon the text it was frustrating that the details or provenance of the book remained a mystery to historians for over 400 years…  Practitioners in the western esoteric tradition have speculated that the Book of Soyga may have had influence on the Enochian System of Magic which was dictated to Dee and Kelley by the Angels. The many-lettered tables, numerological and astrological material in the book do bear similarities to how the Enochian material manifested including the use of backward text and magic tables…   CLAVIS EDITIONS is pleased to offer the first complete English translation of Aldaraia sive Soyga: Tractatus Astrologico Magicus, a work in progress for many years.

I definitely intend to check this out.

Published in: on October 10, 2012 at 11:37 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2012/10/10/forthcoming-the-book-of-soyga/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ll like to ask if this book will be available in nigeria?

  2. Hi Dan
    I hope this finds you well. I’ve only recently made the discovery of your blog and I’ve got to say it’s a jewel in the wilderness of the web, regarding quality of content.

    A couple of things:
    [1] I would like to run an article about you and your written work, on my blog. Are you game?

    [2] Would you be interested in taking a look at any of my Mythos fiction (I’ve written 7 novels, five of which have a Cthulhu Mythos background) or at the RPG I launched several years ago called Yellow Dawn – The Age of Hastur. I’m keen to raise my profile as I’ve spent so much time writing and creating content, I’ve barely done anything to promote my work. Common conundrum.

    Let me know your thoughts.

    Kind regards

    David

  3. Relevant: http://www.dtc.umn.edu/~reedsj/soyga.pdf

    Jim Reed’s work is priceless. ( http://www.dtc.umn.edu/~reedsj/ )

    Interested in your thoughts on this…

  4. Although I am anxiously awaiting this release, I feel like they went with a less complete manuscript; Bodley 908 seems like the better choice over Sloane 8. I love Jim Reeds’ “John Dee and the Magic Tables in the Book of Soyga”, it would make an excellent appendix to this Clavis Editions publication.


Leave a Reply

