Books Forthcoming and Just Arrived

I’ve been working slowly on my review of Techniques of Graeco-Egyptian Magic by Stephen Skinner, a book dealing in some detail with the Greek and Demotic magical papyri.  I’m over half done, and I’m quite positively impressed with it, and I should have a review up soon.

Hippocampus Press is advertising The Variorum Lovecraft, a three-volume set of Lovecraft’s stories with all of the variant texts noted therein.  I’m on the fence about purchasing it myself; after all, I own all of Lovecraft’s fiction at least three times over scattered about my shelves.  Nonetheless, others might be interested therein, or in commenter Bobby Derie’s Sex and the Cthulhu Mythos.

Also, I just saw that Rankine and Barron’s edition of The Complete Grimoire of Pope Honorius is now available on Kindle for the price of a Simon Necronomicon.  (Yes, I’m linking to Amazon.  I’m trying not to link to them when I don’t have to, but they’re far too convenient for many readers, not to mention me.)

Avalonia, which was responsible for that book, has placed the following announcement on their “forthcoming” page:

THE BOOK OF SPIRITS (Le Livre des Esperitz) by David Rankine & Paul Harry Barron. This 16th century French work introduces many demons for the first known time and is seen to be an earlier root to the spirits of the Goetia. More information soon

If you’d like to read the original medieval French text, it’s appended to the end of this article discussing the list.  Nonetheless, this work should have additional commentary on the topic which will make it a welcome addition.

Published in: on October 5, 2014 at 7:17 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2014/10/05/books-forthcoming-and-just-arrived/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Can’t wait for the review!

  2. Thanks Dan! For anyone interested, my book “Sex and the Cthulhu Mythos” has a section on Sex and the Lovecraftian Occult, with subsections on Kenneth Grant, Michael Bertiaux, Simon, Phil Hine, Donald Tyson, and Asenath Mason. It’s not a grimoire by any means, nor is it really intended to be, but if anyone is interested I’ve posted my uncorrected draft for the section here:

    https://app.box.com/s/enfevecr5c5s521jvrgw


Leave a Reply

