RIP Thomas K. Johnson

With his last update, Ben Fernee also passed on the sad news of the passing of Thomas K. Johnson, author of Graveyard Wanderers and the dissertation “Tidebast och Vandelrot.”  His obituary, listing the accomplishments of an impressive life, may be found here.

If anything, this makes me glad that I had the opportunity to discuss his work on this blog.  Graveyard Wanderers is well out of print, but anyone who wants an excellent book on Scandinavian folk magic and grimoires should go to a large research library and search for his Tidebast in the ProQuest Dissertations databases.  Tom left us an amazing collection of translated spells, incantations, and charms that will provide a wonderful opportunity for readers and researchers for years to come.

Published in: on November 13, 2014 at 11:52 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2014/11/13/rip-thomas-k-johnson/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The are very sad news. My condolences to the family.
    I bought his books and although I haven’t read them yet with detail, they are really interesting. I hoped in the future compare the world of the scandinavian svartebokas with the iberian books of St. Cyprian, and talk with Mr. Johnson about those matters.

  2. Sorry a little late to this.
    This is indeed sad news, my copy of Graveyard Wanderers is one of my libraries highlights. My condolences to his family

  3. Hello, I was just wondering if anyone knew any information about Dr.Johnson or knew if there was some way to contact his family. The reason for this is that I am looking into the art of year walking and need some verification on a few questions of my own, thanks in advance


Leave a Reply

