Darrick Dishaw vs. the Church of Satan, Part 2

When we last checked in, it was 2005, and Darrick Dishaw, a.k.a. Venger Satanis, of the Cult of Cthulhu, had announced that he wanted a position of leadership in the Church of Satan, which would become part of his brand new Internet cult.  What happened next?

Many different perspectives have appeared on the Church of Satan.  Only one matter is for certain here:  the Church of Satan does not want to join your lousy Internet cult.  In fact, their site features page after page after page about how much they don’t want to join, affiliate with, or have anything to do with your lousy stinkin’ Internet cult.  At least some of these were up at the time, but Darrick seems to have missed them entirely.

Well, that, along with another point of news:

We are currently phasing out Grottos, so no, your “Cult of Cthulhu” cannot be recognized as a Grotto.

As you can imagine, Darrick was able to respond in a calm and non-insulting manner:

however, i see the CoS slipping away into the darkness (perhaps i’m wrong). especially now that you’ve told me about the phasing out of the grotto system and considering the outrageous $200 membership fee. is the CoS proposing to shed itself of the magical philosophy that it was founded upon as well?

A quick note on Satanic history:  In 1975, many members of the Church of Satan left that organization, with some of them forming the Temple of Set.   (I’m vague about the numbers because neither group is really clear on them.)  The two organizations have differentiated themselves theologically with their approaches to the supernatural.  Roughly speaking, the Temple of Set embraced the view that magic can cause change in the world by the magician’s will altering the laws of the universe.  The Church of Satan views magic as efficacious psychodrama meant to work on emotions to effect change within a person.

As it turned out, Darrick subscribed to the Temple of Set view.

To make this all perfectly clear with an approximate mainstream analogy, Darrick walked into a cathedral, told everyone that they should also join his church while making him a bishop, and asked, “What are the funny little booths for, anyway?”

How’d it go?  You’ll find out.

Published in: on September 20, 2007 at 8:58 pm  Comments (24)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danharms.wordpress.com/2007/09/20/darrick-dishaw-vs-the-church-of-satan-part-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think that’s my favourite bit of the entire exchange (although it’s full of gems, of course) — DD’s dismay at the “outrageous” membership fee. Classic.

  2. I first came across this discussion posted a couple of years ago on alt.satanism and never even entertained the thought that the Cult of Cthulhu would still be ‘active’ now. What I find most amusing is that Darrick has the exchange archived on his website as if it shows him in as the powerful magus standing up to the beauraucratic and decidedly non-magickal church. He can’t quite grasp that it actually makes him look like an ass and not like the iron-willed Satanist with a dark vision that he perceives himself to be.

    Here’s an example of the powerful magick that the Cult carries out: http://www.cultofcthulhu.net/baptism_jade_ichor.htm

  3. “http://www.cultofcthulhu.net/baptism_jade_ichor.htm”

    Is that for real? He’s got green poo on his head! And why is he trying to look like Anton LaVey? Tsk-Tsk, originality is alive and kicking still… when will folk understand that Lovecraft was not only a superlative writer, but had a fine sense of humour to. One wonders what he would make of all this deadly-serious cult malarkey.

    “A prime example of occult faddist’s chicken-with-a-beak-on-the-line methodology is their tendency to grab up anything that has been set forth as arcane.” LaVey was spot on with that observation. So many so-called magicians, sorcerers, occultists, priests (both high and low) et al are simVly grasping at straws in an effort to make their lives seem more interesting. It would seem that Mr Dishaw has taken the hook, the worm and the angler.

    And he seriously needs a decent tailor.

  4. […] 4th, 2007 at 8:33 pm (Cthulhu, Occult, Personal) Based on some comments on a previous post, I think I should clarify my attitude toward the Cult of […]

  5. please can you help me to meet satanic members in kenya so that i can have membership.
    am from mombasa kenya 29yrs marriad not working o ccupation clerk

  6. anyone can write to me through alivictor_1979@yahoo.com please i will be waiting for yor help

  7. lol.. absolutely hilarious!

    I figured this guy would have moved back in with his mother by now and be bagging groceries at some supermarket…

  8. What a dickhead!

  9. Dan, I have a serious question – I am trying to research when Venger took his name. I took my magical name (Venus Satanas) back in 2004, and I am trying to track the time line of when Venger took his name. It’s just for curiosity’s sake. Our names are similar but it has always bothered me in some ways, especially if his choice was not original. If it was then I think that I know what inspired it – a D&D character who was a force of evil, called Venger. Its on google. His history online is shady, covered up in areas, re-written, so its hard to determine a solid time line of this name. Thank you for your time.

  10. hey im julius i want to join the church of satan.if there is any one who can assist me contact me ma email julius.mose@yahoo.com im from nairobi.

    • Julius,

      Perhaps writing the Church of Satan might be more productive?

  11. […] between the CoC and the Church of Satan are purely philosophical, noted Lovecraftain scholar Dan Harms presented the Venger Satanis versus the Church of Satan quite some time ago. In the article Harms made the following […]

  12. need 2 join u guys help

  13. Be a member of Illuminati today and become rich and famous, this is just brief summary to apply now and join thousands of satisfied citizens contact us at illuminatipowerworldwide@xxxxxxx.com or call +0000000000

  14. Are you a business man or woman, are you a musician or an artist, do you want to be famous or you want to become rich or powerful, is better you become a member of the Illuminati and make your dream come through, this is the chance for you now to become a member of the temple and get what you seek from us, if you are ready to become a member and realize your dream then email us now or you call us through this contact:

  15. My name is Mr. William. How i became rich and famous in 3days. I became very rich and famous through the help of Dr. David, who is a member, and an agent to the great Illuminati brotherhood. Through him, I bought the form, and I was initiated. If you really want to be rich.You can also reach him on his contact email address (jointhebrotherhoodilluminati@ gmail.com).

  16. i am jude. I want to testify how my friend Rich, help me into illuminati.i was very poor, i cant even feed my self. But immediatly i meet this my friend my life change. Look at me today i am rich and famous.If need his assistant u can contact him on this via email address(greatilluminatichurch666@gmail.com) or call +2348109190642

  17. HOW I JOIN THE ILLUMINATI CHURCH. I am junia from south africa, I have two kids.I and my two kids bearly feed, nor have money to pay for their school fees. A thought come true my mind and i descided to check the internet of how i can join the illuminati. I saw these email and phone number, and i contacted them. Immidiatly he agreed to help me. That is how i join the illuminati and i have nothing to regret because i am rich and famous and all my request is being granted according to my heart desire. If you need his assistance, contact these via email address. (greatilluminatichurch666@gmail.com) or call +2348109190642

  18. hello devil you still remember me, you say he never wanted to kill me if we meet again. behave as a soldier, if you want to fight the war as a soldier. because I used to teach as a soldier instead of a coward. we are both dumped here, I know you were there, a man with a black cloak, apparently very strong memory, I just have to forget the past. I do not want to deal with the devil, I do not want to make this world destroyed by vengeful past, demons I hope someday we meet, then I will kill you.

  19. Hello! everyone. Am Bryan Thomson, Am not here to tell you false fact, though scammers are all over sites these days but Am here to tell you that we are real and real forever. I was iniciated into this Wealthyilluminaitibrotherhood6 by my Father because amongst all in my family Am the poorest, the rest of my brothers and sisters were all doing fine but I was the only one struggling with life and to get the whole story worse was that Am the elder child of my Parents and it hurts my Dad whenever he sees me begging for money from my junior ones and I was not aware that my junior ones are in same hood with my Dad until the day I was iniciated, I saw them all representing in the TEMPLE. To brief the whole story short, that was how I was iniciated and now me and my family are lavishing in money. I say thanks! to the Wealthyilluminaitibrotherhood6 for making me to know what money is really called and the real name of money is called (AUTHORITY) because when you have it, you command the World. Please if you are interested to join our hood, you can reach us via email:Wealthyilluminaitibrotherhood6@gmail.com or call us on:+2348162499618. Join now to get rich, famous, wealthy and to obtain strong spiritual powers. Thanks!.

  20. It’s optional to join the most powerful secret society
    in the world illuminati: we do not force any one as
    its your self to decide for your future. You can
    Contact us at any time , you will be guided through
    the whale process and be helped on how join the
    occult. Hail 666 becomes the chosen one.
    You will be required to answer the following
    questions over the phone before we consider your
    request for membership
    1. What is your name?
    2. How old are you?
    3. What do you do for a living?
    4. How many time have you ever tried to join
    Illuminati?
    5. Why do you really want to join our legacy?

  21. Join the Wealthyilluminaitibrotherhood6 today to get rich, famous and to obtain GREAT spiritual powers to do whatever you wish. This is the season that we give ransom to newly joined members, we offer newly joined members $30.000000 and $50.000000 every week as a full member. if you are interested to join, you can reach us via email :wealthyilluminaitibrotherhood6@gmail.com or call us on : +2348162499618. Goodluck!.

  22. Hey just asking what extactly do you need to make the stars align? In other words to wake up Cthulhu

    • You start by joining the Illuminati. Duh.


Leave a comment